How To Look Younger Without Spending A Fortune


Ways-To-Save-Money[1]

I want to tell you how you can make some simple, inexpensive, and easy changes to your lifestyle that will make a BIG difference in your appearance with very little damage to your pocket-book. I am a HUGE believer in lifestyle over genetics as a much more compelling influence in the quest to looking younger.

Here is a list of things that I incorporate in to my life, along with some emergency damage control tips when you screw up (like me!) and you need a quick pick me up:

1. On a daily basis, drink LOTS of water (8-10 glasses or more!).

This is often overlooked as important because people do not realise that water circulates in the body and shows up on your face in the form of plumper, smoother skin!

2. Avoid caffeine and alcohol!!!!

It dehydrates and shrivels up your skin!! You can lessen the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles in a BIG way by just practicing these first 2 tips! Just take a before and after picture and see for yourself! (wait 3 days)

3. Exercise regularly (brisk walking, Zumba, anything that makes you SWEAT!).

If you can’t or won’t exercise, I have an alternative for you. It’s called SAUNA… Make yourself sweat. This will help release toxins out of your skin and promote circulation to the face.

4. Light Therapy!

Nope, I don’t expect you to go spend $75.00 and up at a Spa for this. I saw a Groupon offering infrared light therapy for 1/2 off at $75.00. You can do this repeatedly at home for a one time fee of around $35.00.

There are numerous benefits to be had with my much more affordable alternative.

Check out my blog post on Sauna Therapy.

You can purchase an infrared bulb and clamp base at your local hardware store. Sit under it at a safe distance (Don’t burn yourself!) for about 20 minutes a day or a few times a week! Read my blog post for more details on the benefits.

5. Buy a “Hydrating” gel masque

For quick emergency plumping when you haven’t followed the first two tips faithfully. A more natural alternative would be one of my oatmeal masque recipes I have posted on this blog. Check them out!

6. Practice “Icing” your skin.

Joan Crawford and Michael Landon did this every day. First thing in the morning after cleansing your skin, hold ice to your cheeks, forehead, and all over for as long as you can stand it. What does this do?

Cold molecules actually spin in the direction of your cells and drive water into your skin. Hot water molecules spin in the opposite direction and pull water and moisture out!

The ice also shrinks capillaries resulting in less redness and inflammation on the face as well as smaller pores!

(THANKS to Olga Burova my very brilliant Russian friend for teaching me about hot and cold molecules!).

7. Use a Collagen Masque.

You can purchase one at any drug store or beauty supply very inexpensively from anywhere from $1.99 and up. Make sure to exfoliate before laying fabric on the skin.

8. Exfoliate gently 1-2 times a week.

You don’t have to purchase an expensive exfoliant.

Simply mix together some sugar and honey and rub in circular motions all over the face after cleansing (while skin is damp). You can also use a little baking soda mixed in with your facial cleanser for a beautiful glow.

This removes dead skin from the face, helps other products to penetrate deeper into the skin and encorages new skin cell growth. This is perhaps the most underestimated skin care habit out there for a more youthful appearance.

9. Get To Bed Before 10:00pm!

Studies show the hours between 10:00pm and 2:00am are crucial to the bodies own natural repairing and healing process. People who don’t get enough sleep are more likely to overeat and have more health problems.


Now for some tips that take a little more effort but not a lot:

1. DR. PERRICONE 3-DAY FACE LIFT~ Check out his website for details.

http://blog.perriconemd.com/perricone-3-day-diet-get-a-face-lift-in-your-kitchen/

2. GREEN TEA BAGS~

Carry them with you on vacations or keep a good stash in your kitchen. Steep a couple of them for a few minutes and then throw them in the fridge or freezer. After about 10 minutes, lay back and apply them to your eyes. Leave them 10-15 minutes.

Afterwards your eyes should look much brighter and happier. I am so glad I thought to stash them in my bag on a recent trip to Dallas. I threw out all of my normal practices and ate loads of pizza and junk food. After a night of wine tasting I woke up to a very inflamed face and swollen eye lids.

I am not a party animal at all, it was just some innocent wine tasting! Something I could have done in my 20′s with very little consequences in my appearance. I broke out my green tea bags to the rescue!

3. FACE MASSAGE~

I think Tonya Zavasta has one of the best self protocols out there! Do this several times a week to relax and strengthen facial muscles.

These are just a few tips. There are so many other natural things that you can do. But this is a great start and promises some astounding results. Pick one or two and try them out. Take some before and after photos of yourself!

Thank you for visiting my blog and please rate me, follow me on FB and/or Twitter @SecretsOfTheSpa. Or just leave me a comment to let me know what you think!

Hope to share some more Spa Secrets very soon!

Caroline

Leave a comment

May 20, 2013 · 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

