Micro Needling for Skin


I couldn’t wait to use mine, and noticed results, yes, immediately! My skin felt tighter, my pores looked smaller. It takes a full 14 days for the collagen activity I set off to complete its cycle. So, it will only get better over the next 2 weeks.

I was so excited to come home on Tuesday from a busy day at the Spa to find my new “Micro Needling Device” I had bought from Amazon. I explored this treatment a few years ago and decided to put it on hold for a bit while I investigated other options for helping my skin to produce collagen (skin plumping protein). You have probably heard about how our skin slows collagen production with age and begins to sink in some places and lose the firm plumpness of our youth.

This is a way I can manipulate my skin at home at a very affordable cost! The device can be called several names such as “Micro Needling”, “Collagen Induction Therapy (CIT), “Derma-Roller”. What people don’t realize is how valuable this little $29.00 gadget can be. I am familiar with a Day Spa in a very affluent area that sells this “treatment” along with a professional peel solution application at a hefty price tag of $150.00!!!

This little hand-held device has several micro needles on a roller that put tiny holes in to the skins’ surface. If you have ever explored laser therapy than you are familiar with lasers that put tiny pin holes in the skin. This causes the skin cells to go in to repair mode, fibroblast activity (firing off collagen proteins), plumping and healing the skin, making acne scars fade, reducing wrinkles, stretch marks much less noticeable, refining the pores, etc.

The tiny pinholes left behind after using the roller help to increase absorption of products up to 400%. New skin is regenerated without removing the dermis or damaging the epidermis while improving skin’s elasticity & texture by promoting collagen formation.

Instructions are usually included.

Results are similar to fractional and resurfacing lasers, but without the issues of ablation, heat and necessary downtime. Heat is one of the main causes of hyperpigmentation (uneven dark patches on the skin). I couldn’t wait to use mine, and noticed results, Yes, immmediately! My skin felt tighter, my pores looked smaller. It takes a full 14 days for the collagen activity I set off to complete its cycle. So, it will only get better over the next 2 weeks.

I plan on using my device 3-4 times a week in the evenings. Luckily, as a Professional Aesthetition, I have access to professional grade peel solutions and was able to treat my skin with a solution along with a “Hyaluronic Serum” for hydration and added plumping results. You can get great results with ”Hyaluronic” serums purchased on the internet or at your local health food store. A good antioxidant Vitamin C Serum would make a great addition to your Micro Needle Therapy. Make sure to follow instructions carefully, never apply a professional peel solution without the help or aid of a professional.

I started by cleansing my skin with an organic cleanser, then exfoliating it with some of Eminence’s Strawberry Rhubarb Dermafoliant.

This step is important because you want make sure skin is cleaned thoroughly and any surface dead skin cells removed for proper penetration of the micro needling device as well as the products you apply afterwards.

After using my micro needling device I spritzed my skin with some toner. Because I felt like my skin was sunburned after my treatment (a normal reaction), I decided to apply a ”Calm Skin Masque” with Arnica by Eminence Organics Skincare.

I finished up by applying some Eminence Grapefruit-C Gel and some soothing Stone Crop Moisturizer along with my favorite Wild Plum Eye Cream.

Please feel free to send me any questions you may have about this home therapy device. I look forward to sharing more Spa Secrets with you next week!

http://youtu.be/LvgKSkxNCsE

Hyperpigmentation: is a common, usually harmless condition in which patches of skin become darker in color than the normal surrounding skin.

Hyaluronic Acid: Hyaluronic acid is a polysaccharide. It is a thick, slimy substance. Our bodies produce it naturally in abundance, but it can also be made synthetically. Hyaluronic acid is often used in plastic surgery by injection of a product called Restylane to erase wrinkles and plump up lips.

9 thoughts on “Micro Needling for Skin

  1. hey great article!! i have very sensitve oily acne prone skin and i was looking for a good light moisterizer for night any suggestions? i was looking at the Eminence Grapefruit-C Gel but not sure if there are anyother better ones out there, that must be fragrance free.

    1. The Stone Crop Moisturizer by Eminence Organics would be a great option for you. Also, The RoseHip Whip is even better if you don’t mind a bit more moisture in evening. It’s not too heavy, but not quite as light as the Stone Crop. Rose Hips are VERY high in Vitamin C creating a necessary anti-inflammatory for acne prone skin. I’m really enjoying their new daytime moisturizer with SPF 32. It’s called Persimmon and Cantaloupe Day Cream, and it’s very light. I suggest alternating your night time moisturizer with the seasons. You may enjoy the Rose Hip Whip Moisturizer during the Winter Months when oil glands aren’t quite as active. And the switch to The Stone Crop when it gets warmer. Hope this helps! Thank you for stopping by my blog. I love the compliments:)

Leave a Reply

